What are the U.S. District Federal Courts?
(And what do they have to do with Kentucky?)


The United States district courts are the trial courts of the federal court system. (They are NOT part of Kentucky’s state court system).  They have jurisdiction to hear nearly all categories of federal cases, including both civil and criminal matters. 
In total there are 94 U.S. district courts.

Kentucky has 2 judicial districts, the Western District and the Eastern District.

What are Federal Courts’ current policies for jury duty service?
Each judicial district must have a formal written plan for the selection of jurors, which provides for random selection from a fair cross-section of the community in the district, and which prohibits discrimination in the selection process.
By law, a copy of a district's Jury Plan (A.K.A. “Juror Selection Plan”) must be available for review in the clerk's office.

Click here to find out the juror policies of Kentucky’s 2 judicial districts.

Last updated Tuesday April 03, 2007


  Back to the HOME PAGE

Kentucky needs FFJD laws!

Kentucky's FFJD initiatives Contact your KY state legislator the easy way! What to say to your Kentucky state legislator Contact your KY state legislator by mail
Sample letter What NOT to say! Enlist support from other Kentuckians! History of KY's FFJD initiatives What are the U.S. District Courts? FFJD in KY's Federal Courts
How to get FFJD policies in KY's Eastern District Court Sample letter to KY's Chief Federal Judge

Copyright ©2002-2008